At C.A. Duquemin, we are a modern business with traditional values. Our vast experience means early engagement on projects allows us to advise on buildability and economic viability. We believe that high quality is never an accident. With premium products and cutting-edge design, our experience and reliability allow us to execute your vision and produce quality results.
We aim to elevate our staff so that our inbuilt quality carries on into the future. Our completed projects are a testament to the skills and dedication of our team.
Team photo 1938. Cecil Duquemin is second from the right in the middle row. Mac Duquemin is the 14 year old boy in the back row.
The origins of C.A. Duquemin Ltd go back to 1924 when Alfred J Duquemin started in business as a stonemason and builder. Only two years later, he was commissioned to construct the Island War Memorial, showcasing premium craftsmen since our inception.
By 1930 the business had more than 30 full-time staff. Cecil Alfred Duquemin joined his father as a carpenter during the early 1930s and eventually took over the business and changed its name to C.A. Duquemin Ltd upon his father’s death in 1938.
The business remains in family ownership to this day.
For almost 100 years we have been paving the way for premium construction in Guernsey.
A legacy of craftsmanship and innovation.
C.A. Duquemin is a Chartered Building Company and one of Guernsey's oldest family-owned construction businesses and can trace its history back to 1924. We specialise in historic and high-class refurbishment building works, modern new build projects and minor works. With more than 60 full-time craftsmen, tried and tested sub-contractors and a fully equipped joinery workshop, we have a proven track record of high-quality results.
Malcolm (Mac) Duquemin joined the firm in 1938 at age 14 as an apprentice plasterer and later went on to run the business up until the 1980s.
After retiring from the Royal Engineers, John Duquemin joined the family business and was MD for over 25 years from the mid 80’s.
Dave Naftel and David Duquemin were also appointed as directors in the mid 80’s.
1984 saw the purchase and construction of our business premises in Les Baissieres.